August 19th

 

August 19th has special meaning to me. One for my personal life and another for fangirling life. The latter is the main reason I write this entry. It was the release date of CNBLUE first mini album in Japan: Now or Never.

I remember it was in September 2009, my friend, a Primadonna, sent me the link to Now or Never album. She said: “Try it, it’s FT Island’s junior.” She herself bought that mini album already. I was so busy at that time, second year of my MBA program just started. So I only keep the file in my HDD.

Then You’re Beautiful aired in the middle of October 2009. Once again, she promoted the drama to me since Lee Hong Ki is one of the casts. However, I got smitten by Kang Shin Woo instantly! She then said, that’s the guy from CNBLUE, I told you before about the band. So I started listening to Now or Never mini album.

Yes, I love it instantly. All the songs are in English, some are understandable and some are not. At that time I’m still not familiar with Yonghwa and Jonghyun voice and my trick to differentiate their voices is the English pronounciation. If it’s quite clear, then it’s Yonghwa LOL.

The tracklist of Now or Never mini album:

  1. Now or Never
  2. Let’s Go Crazy
  3. Love Revolution
    Lyrics by Yong Hwa
    Music by Han Sung Ho / Kim Jae Yang
    Arranged by Owl
  4. Just Please
    Lyrics by Yong Hwa
    Music by Yong Hwa / Owl
    Arranged by Owl
  5. Teardrops in the Rain

The first song I heard was Teardrops in the Rain. I like it as I’m a ballad sucker but I guess my favorite is Love Revolution. Then I heard that Just Please was composed by Yonghwa during the rain when he couldn’t sleep. I admired him and the band even more.

So it was in November 2009, the bassist has changed from Kwangjin to Jungshin and the next mini album voice was gonna be released too. I decided to buy both albums at once from yesasia. I’m glad I did it. You know that Now or Never is not available anywhere now.

Honestly speaking, I like two earlier mini albums the best. Y, Why is probably my all time favorite. I just felt that them composing those songs based on their pure love to music and to express their feelings, not afraid whether it’s commercial enough. There’s no need to indicate “I wrote this song to someone” so then it can be in all kill chart. You know what I’m talking about. I understand it’s the marketing strategy and maybe it’s the phase they need to go through right now.

And of course our boys have improved a lot since their debut in Japan in August 19th, 2009, in composing wise and live performance wise. This noona can’t be prouder! 

Soon our boys will have their major label debut. More hectic schedule to come, I hope they can still deliver better performance each time and can still have room to do what they want. This noona can only watch and wish them well always. And don’t forget to prepare the cash. Major label debut = More money, right? OTL

4 responses to “August 19th

  1. kacchanvoice August 19, 2011 at 4:42 am

    chiara, you are the first boice that i know…when i know cnblue..as soon as i know you….you’re the best…i Love U…

    • chiara August 20, 2011 at 2:27 am

      I feel honored to be the first Boice you know. In time I’m sure you will meet lots of other Boices who are very nice and wonderful. Thank you for loving cnblue^^

  2. klaritia August 19, 2011 at 6:45 am

    It feel so strange now that we had a hard time telling between Yonghwa’s and Jonghyun’s voices. It’s so easy to tell now.
    They will make even more awesome albums, but first love is first love, nothing compares to it.

    • chiara August 20, 2011 at 2:31 am

      Yeah people say first love is hard to die. More awesome albums to come, I definitely will wait for those! Though I’m a bit worried about the direction FnC is going *coughIdolcough*

Leave a Reply

