Jonghyun in VogueGirl August edition

Not digging the flower concept, however I wish I were that red rose >.<

Scanned by http://planet-b.tistory.com/

Translation of the interview:

VOGUE GIRL AUGUST- WHO’S YOUR DADDY?

Different with Collin of ‘A Gentlemen’s Dignity’, who is difficult to notice what he is thinking about, Jonghyun was without hesitation. He disclosed the genuine reason of starting music, and replied with smile on his face concerning the recent topic of his ‘foot acting’ (translator: which means poor acting in Korean). But he never let know about Collin’s real father until the interview is ended.

PHOTOGRAPHED BY AN JI SUP/ Editor: Ga-hye Kim/ Stylist: Bonb-bub Kim/ Hair&Make-up: Hwan Kim/Prop master: Ellientati Flower/ Assistant: Hyun-ju Song

V.G: Did you see Minhyuk’s interview on last month’s <Vogue Girl>?
JongHyun(Below, JH): I only saw photos. I just read in the article that he mentioned we members do monitoring for each others.

V.G: He said badly about your tam-o’ shanter. Why do you like it?
JH: Caps don’t look good on me. So when I have to wear caps or hats, I always wear beanies or tam-o’ shelter. But in fact, I do wear it after I saw Kimura Takuya wearing that in Japanese drama ‘Sora Kara Furu Ichioku No Moshi(A Hundred Million Stars Raining From the Sky)’. He was extremely handsome.

V.G: I see. Do you like Kimura Takuya?
JH: Who will dislike him? He is handsome even with male’s sight. So I wear it once after him, and found it was better than expectation. Although reactions from around were not good.

V.G: Do you care that reactions in mind and act like not minding? Or do you really don’ mind to other’s saying?
JH: I care about it but then ignore. (laugh)

V.G: Do members monitor you frankly when seeing ‘A Gentlemen’s Dignity’?
JH: Yes, a lot frankly. (V.G: Doesn’t it hurt you?) Anyway, I started acting just recently. And, in my opinion, Minhyuk is really doing well in acting.

V.G: It may be, but do you remember interviews with <Vogue Girl> two years ago? With he question ‘What do you imagine you’ll doing after ten years?’ you answered that you will do music without any changing, and “Possibly at the same time I may act.”. Couldn’t you expect at that time such these days will come?
JH: I couldn’t. At that time, I was really determined not to act. Musicians are stubborn in common. And guitarists are more. But with time flows, I could accept doing acting with music at the same time.

V.G: How was our mind when you acted in <Acoustic>?
JH: At first, I thought I could do well because the character was near my age and he wanted to do music. I believed both music and acting are arts with some feelings and other ‘languages’. So I rushed into it, and got hurt. The gap in ‘languages’ was so big.

V.G: Every cut that filmed today included flowers. What comes into your mind when you see flowers? Do you think it is beloved thing by all girls? Or is it decorates on your name?
JH: First, I have never given flowers to girls. Because on one former day, my elder sister said to me after got flower present from someone, ‘JongHyun, do not give flower presents to girls.’

V.G: Didn’t your girlfriend felt displeased about that?
JH: No, not at all. I’m not a style of celebrating special days. I’m a blunt person. (V.G: You are a typical guy of Busan?) That’s it!

V.G: You were selected as ‘Ul-Zzang’ (translator: which means the best looking face in Korean) before debuted. Have you received the attention of women since young?
JH: Slightly? Yet it wasn’t that great. Because I graduated boy’s Middle School, and High School was coeducational but each class was separated for genders.” (V.G: Anyway, we can guess when on Valentines’ day, chocolates would cover your desk, and on your way from school to home, female juniors would follow you.) Yes, I think so. I spent exciting school days. In a word!

V.G: You were a Judo player when in Middle School. How did you start your career as a Judo player?
JH: When I was in the first grade, Judo club was reorganized in the school and gathered players. At that time, my body was unique case so it was outstanding. I was thin and very tall. Now my height is same as when I as 16. Anyway, teacher suggested me to do that for hobby, so I started and soon found it interesting. I liked exercises by nature. I do not tell if often, but anyway I got 3rd or 4th degrees on Taekwondo when I was young. Then in Judo, it was not that long since I started Judo when I got gold medal on metropolis meet. And I found it fascinating then.

V.G: You thought you have a nature gift in Judo?
JH: That was my illusion. But after I realized that I’m not the extent of Country’s number one, I thought it would be better to do other things rather than covered with other better-skilled players than me. So I went to academic High School to study. When I Middle School, my score was okay with doing exercises together, but when it comes to concentrate on studying, it did not go well. Hasty preparation on studying didn’t work any more. Therefore I concluded not to continue, so I asked my parents what I should do from now on, and they replied ‘Do as you want.’

V.G: How is your parent like?
JH: They are widely opened. I didn’t have to leave home. I felt pity when I saw choking and discontented friends under conservative parents. My parents said “Live as you want to live, but we will keep you just until you become twenty,”

V.G: Then you may don’t have memories of making your parents heartache?
JH: Of course I have. It exists but when they see me now they sat I grew up well by myself. Well, there are one thing and another I cannot tell. But anyway I spent enjoyable school life.

V.G: Then, why did you have so much worry in your career?
JH: It’s same now, but I really hate uncertain things. I absolutely have to do what I can do best. But every time after I reached to some extent I always found out some people doing better than me. Without exercises, there wasn’t anything I can do well, so I thought what I like to do. After that, I realized I like singing in the singing room, and listening to music. So I tried doing music so started to go to the academy. With learning singing and piano, I could know musicians like Eric Clapton, and I found it attractive and challenging that singing while playing the guitar.

V.G: Quincy Jones have mentioned about the reason why he started music is, “I started this to get attention from women. I don’t know exactly what will others say, but anyway they are the same.”
JH: It’s true! I think regardless of sex, everyone’s object of the behavior is eventually the opposite sex. It can be explained through the fact that men want to get abilities or women try to make themselves look pretty, it’s all the same. If I try to make the reason (why I started music) sounds great, I can describe with romance but that is the truth. What do you think why I liked singing in the singing room?

V.G: Is there any song you want to recommend, to make girls give you mind?
JH: It’s not exactly but there are my favorite songs. ‘Flowers of Snow’ by Park Hyo Shin. (V.G: Aha, Like ‘Confession’ which intention is impure by Lim Jae Bum?) I like ‘moist’ songs, like ‘One day’ of Position.

V.G: To synthesize stories until now, in school days, Lee JongHyun had good looking, exercised well, and studied quite well, and plus, you sang well?
JH Hahaha. But I was very countrified. I was running on the seawall, and when hot, I dived into the sea. Marine boy?

V.G: Minhyuk said he had camera phobia, but Jonghyun, seeing your pictures when you were an Ul-Zzang in the past, the atmosphere is like ‘Go ahead and shoot, if you are willing to!’
JH: I have no photo phobia at all. It’s funny and comfortable. But video is a little bit different. I thought I don’t have phobia but I realized it for the first time acting in the drama. My nostril becomes big when tensioned involuntarily. (laugh)

V.G: Do you check reactions from others after the drama episode has broadcasted?
JH I don’t access to internet. Of course I am curious. But whatever people say, if I just do hard, yet I cannot do well in the present, but some day I could do well in the future.

V.G: What was your know-how to be casting on Collin?
JH: I think they looked a favor on feelings. Of course my acting wasn’t that good, but the more I tried on audition, it became better. By the way, by look of it (sweeping faces up and down with palm) I think this appearance did a big role in that. Feels like a boy from abroad? When I don’t smile, it looks cold and they said it looks similar with Collin.

V.G: When did you realize your appearance is exotic?
JH: When I was young. My friends made fun of me that I am a child of mixed blood when I was an elementary school student. They said I couldn’t be Korean. So I went home and asked my parents, “Am I a mixed child?” They said no. They said I am 100% Korean-blooded boy.

V.G: What most strikes you when act? Dialect?
JH: Cold way of speaking? Because of I have small assortment of facial expressions. It’s hard to express various feelings like people using standard languages. At all ever, what’s the character who is warm-hearted inside, and cold-looking outside? It’s a lot difficult. My appearance looks cold but my personality isn’t that at all. (V.G: Which character did you referred to?) Senior HyunBin. He seems talk bluntly, but when pay attention to his word, there are some special accent separately.

V.G: Have you ever thought that is Lee JongHyun, not Collin when monitoring?
JH: When I monitor me, I don’t feel like he is me.

V.G: That might be good news! You became other person, not you in that moment.
JH: But seniors said “Acting is not making some other person. It’s just by yourself.” “If you express other person, that man is you that you haven’t realized. He is not other person.” (VG: Just acting is hard. It shouldn’t be easy to melt yourself to that.) That’s what I mean!

V.G: You came here after filming some scenes of drama today. What was that scene?
JH: I gripped and released four gentlemen around Collin’s finger. Collin is unpredictable guy, hard to presuppose what to do.

V.G: What scene will you select as the best among broadcasted episodes until now?
JH: (pretend to kick) I think it was the best. (V.G: God’s grace in kicking?) Yes. Once my friend sent me saying that there is an exciting thing on internet, and that’s title was ‘Collin foot acting’. So I thought ‘Ah, people say bad about my acting.’, and checked it, and it was kicking scene to save Echo Lim in the club toilet. So I was relieved.

V.G: Your specialty on the profile on portal sites, must be ‘Kicking’. You flied and kicked in the teaser ‘I’m a loner’ without stuntman.
JH: Yes, I did. I surely want to take action movies in the future. I’m really confident in that. (V.G: Like So Ji Sub’s role in <Movie is the Movie>?) Oh, he is handsome. But I want Bourne’s character.(Jason Bourne in the series) Bourne!

V.G: That teaser of ‘I’m a loner’ showed CNBLUE’s each member’s character when you are debuted. Do you like your character ‘Burning’?
JH: It was best for me. How could they imagine ‘Burning’ from alphabet B? I really live burningly and want to live as I want to do.

V.G: Let’s get our conversation’s topic back to the drama. Which scene will you select when it comes to the most dissatisfied to you?
JH: Calling with mother in Japanese. I really got disappointed for myself. I thought Japanese was my specialty so I was confident. But when thought about it, it was matter of course. When foreigners say fluently in Korean, it’s not always mean that they act well in Korean.

V.G: Personally, I liked your line after your mother hang up the call, “I’ll take for granted you to agree.” Fans also liked that scene.
JH: There was too much power on my nostrils. It was enlarged to do hard. (laugh)

V.G: Did you have some changes in everyday life after you started acting of Collin?
JH: I became calm then before. I was always excited on usual days. (V.G: Well, it may be. Collin listens to music alone.) Yes. But I like to listen if altogether.

V.G: How did you feel when you met four candidates of your father?
JH: Of course I was wondering. ‘Who will be my father out of these four?’ (V.G: Considering on similar figures, maybe Jang Dong Gun?) Eh, where dare do you compare. (V.G: Then other seniors are okay to compare?) I don’t mean that. Amazingly, I can find some resemblance with all four seniors.

V.G: What do you anticipate for ending in drama?
JH: I want everyone to be happy in the end. (V.G: So I mean, what’s story of that ending?) I suppose.. Oh, it’s very difficult? Writer must have trouble on that.

V.G: I think every time when people meet you all will ask you “Who is your father?”
JH: Yes, but I never tell them.

V.G: It’s not left many days until weekends. Please write on this paper. So Collin, who the deuce is your dad?
JH Eh, Just see TV broadcasting on this weekend. Just wait for it. (laugh) (translator: He used Kim Do Jin’s way of speaking)

Translated by @enternalfor_JH

One response to “Jonghyun in VogueGirl August edition

  1. lovelynwong July 19, 2012 at 8:18 am

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

